Faculty-Led Travel

Northern offers a variety of unique opportunities for students and community members to study and learn outside the U.S., led by experienced faculty and including the option to enroll in credit-bearing courses.

BIOL 492 – Tp: Medicine in China

Dates: May 6-June 10, 2019

Registration Deadline: Dec. 1, 2018

Credits: 3

This course provides an overview of the theories and practices of traditional and scientific medicine in China. It is a required course for the Summer in China five-week faculty-led study abroad program for 2019. Course will be offered during the mornings while Chinese language and culture class will be taken in the afternoons. The program includes weekend excursions to Beijing and more. The student cost for the program is round-trip airfare, tuition, visa, and excursion costs. Reimbursement is available to offset the airfare. For more information, contact CI/NSU Director Greg DePies at gregory.depies@northern.edu.

Summer in China Program Application

 

Culture and language in San José, Costa Rica

Dates: May 8-22, 2019

Credits: Variable

  • Stay with a Costa Rican family throughout the duration of the program in San José
  • Experience Costa Rican tradition first-hand playing Tingo (Bingo)
  • Learn popular Costa Rican dances including salsa
  • Visit a coffee plantation
  • Explore Hereida, Costa Rica
  • Travel to the active Irazu Volcano National Park

Registration: Please email studyabroad@northern.edu.

For questions, please contact NSU Study Abroad office, studyabroad@northern.edu, or Dr. Juan Gonzalez at juan.gonzalez@northern.edu.

 

SPAIN EXPERIENCE

Dates: May 9-18, 2019

Flight leaves from Minneapolis, Minn. Must arrange travel to and from Minneapolis separately. 

Credits: Variable

  • Guided tour of the National Del Prado Art Museum
  • Embark on a tour of Toledo, including the Toledo Cathedral and Alcazar
  • Ride a bullet train to experience secondary education
  • Visit the Seville Cathedral and Giralda
  • Experience the Picasso Museum and Alcazaba in Malaga
  • Go on a day excursion to La Alhambra

Registration: EDFN 492: Global Education

For questions please contact NSU Study Abroad office, studyabroad@northern.edu, Dr. Andria Moon, andria.moon@northern.edu, or Dr. Anna Schwan, anna.schwan@northern.edu.

 

History and Geography in cambodia and thailand
 

Dates: May 24-June 6, 2019

Credits: Variable

  • Watch the sun rise over Angkor Wat
  • Tour the Royal Palace, royal residence to the king of Cambodia
  • Visit the Tuol Sleng Prision in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, and talk with a survivor of the Khmer Rouge period
  • Take a speed boat to the Phi Phi Islands in Thailand, and stop along the way to snorkel and swim
  • Hike to the Hmong village in Ayutthaya, Cambodia, with a local guide
  • Visit cultural landmarks all around Bangkok

Registration: GEOG 492: Cultural Exploration of Southeast Asia or HIST 492: Cultural Exploration of Southeast Asia

For questions please contact NSU Study Abroad office, studyabroad@northern.edu, Dr. Erin Fouberg, erin.fouberg@northern.edu, or Dr. Steven Usitalo, steven.usitalo@northern.edu.