About the School of Business

Welcome! Northern State University’s School of Business is the choice for your business education and preparation for a successful career. We - the faculty, staff, and I - hope you will come to visit the campus and meet with us and our students!

I am excited that you are considering becoming part of the Northern State University Business School family. Moving on from high school and choosing a college is an exciting time in your life, and is an important decision. Allow me to share a little about what makes Northern and the School of Business an awesome place.

Students are the number one priority at Northern and the School of Business. Our campus is full of friendly and caring people, professors who genuinely care about you, and a staff who will go out of their way to help you.

Northern is located on a beautiful campus with lots of new facilities, including residence halls, the new Science Center, the new practice and soccer fields, and a soon to come stadium! The School of Business is located in Lincoln Hall on the campus green, where you’ll often find students engaged in a Frisbee game, studying, or just enjoying the sunshine. 

Our faculty are dedicated professionals who excel in connecting with you and providing an educational experience equal to that of any university. At Northern, you’ll not only get the latest materials in the classroom, but you’ll also have opportunities to learn outside the classroom with internships and study abroad.  By the way, the world also comes to study here: students from over 40 countries study at Northern!

As you consider and make your final decisions about college, remember that students at Northern value the support they receive from faculty, the relationships they establish with their classmates, and the extensive opportunities to develop and grow in all facets of life. Longer range, the School of Business also helps you to prepare for your first professional position and career.  Northern's  graduates work in a broad range of professional careers all over the world.

If you seek a world-class education in a safe and friendly environment, you will find it at Northern. I hope you will come to campus for a visit and see for yourself how a Northern business education can prepare you for your future!

Dr. Doug Ohmer

Dean, College of Professional Studies

School of Business Advisory Board

The School of Business works to expand its relationships with area businesses through biannual meetings of the Business Advisory Board. Board members include industry experts in a wide variety of business sectors. The board serves as a liaison between NSU and the business community, advising the School of Business on current and emerging trends and issues in industry.


NSU Members
  • Kristi Bockorny - Co-chair
  • Monica Burgeson - Secretary
  • (Vacant) - NSU President
  • Doug Ohmer - School of Business Dean
  • Sara Schmidt - Co-chair
  • Michael Wanous - Provost


Banking and Financial Services Advisory Board

Members of the NSU School of Business Banking and Financial Services Advisory Board are people with industry experience in the financial services sector of South Dakota and North Dakota.

Board members:

- Serve as a liaison between NSU and the banking and financial services industry;

- Advise the School of Business on curriculum issues that reflect industry needs and trends;

- Promote student awareness of opportunities and experiences in the financial services sector and serve as a contact for internship and career opportunities; and

- Provide guidance in the development of the master's degree in banking and financial services to better prepare students and provide the skills needed to advance to higher-level positions within the financial services sector.


Bret Afdahl - South Dakota Banking Commission

Tim Ahartz - BankWest

Eric Bauer - Great Western Bank

Matt Behm- Home State Bank

Chad Bergan - Dacotah Bank, Inc.

Corey Bobzien - First Savings Bank

Bob Compton - Dacotah Bank, Inc.

Mark Dunn - First Premier Bank

Dana Dykhouse - First Premier Bank

Daryl Ebach - Dacotah Bank, Inc.

Curt Everson - South Dakota Bankers Association

Rod Fouberg - Dacotah Bank, Inc.

Mike Gibson - BankWest 

Bruce Haerter - Farmers State Bank

Cody Hageman - Plains Commerce Bank

Mark Hahler - CorTrust Bank

Brent Heinert - Plains Commerce Bank

Josh Hogue - Reliabank Dakota

Dave Johnson - Reliabank Dakota

John McGee - First Security Bank/LA Amundson Investments

Peter Mehlhaff - Great Plains Bank

Megan Olson - Independent Community Bankers of S.D.

Garry Peterka - Quoin Bank

Ryan Schimke - Great Western Bank

John Schwan - Schwan Financial Group

Joe Senger - Dacotah Bank, Inc.

Kevin Tetzlaff - First Bank & Trust

Matt Tobin - South Dakota Trust Company

Cindi Walsh - US Bank - Aberdeen

Richard Westra - Dacotah Bank, Inc.

NSU Members

Kristi Bockorny - Co-chair

Monica Burgeson - Secretary

(Vacant) - NSU president

Doug Ohmer - School of Business Dean

Sara Schmidt - Co-chair

Michael Wanous - Provost