School of Education Scholarships

Scholarship deadlines for the 2020-2021 academic year that are not listed below will be announced in March 2020. Please check back in March for updates and return completed applications to the School of Education, Gerber 115. For more scholarships, visit Outside Scholarships.



Daniel Wold Foundation Scholarship

Deadline: April 1, 2020

Summary: Applicant must be attending Northern with preference given to students from Watford City, Ellendale or Carrington, N.D., or from Roncalli High School, Aberdeen, S.D.; preference also given to majors in school counseling, secondary education, elementary education or special education. Requires online application, essay, high school transcript with GPA and ACT score, essay and a recommendation letter. One $1,000 scholarship.


Atkins Residency Scholarship

Summary: This scholarship is available to teacher education residency pilot students.


Orley & Bernice Gederos Educational Leadership Endowment Scholarship

Summary: Applicants must be students majoring in teacher education or business. Requirements include a minimum B+ GPA, financial need and an essay addressing how the applicant will be involved in the community as a leader of tomorrow. A copy of the scholarship recipient's essay will be sent to the scholarship donor.


Janice Jirouch Counselor Education

Summary: Applicants must be pursuing a master's degree in counselor education.


Doreen Thomas Kayl Endowment Scholarship

Summary: Preferred applicants are female nontraditional students from South Dakota, particularly Deuel, Hand or Spink counties. Secondary consideration is given to South Dakota residents. Applicants must major in elementary education and have a minimum 3.0 GPA.


Patricia Venoy (Schumacher) Kurle Scholarship

Summary: Priority is given to juniors majoring in elementary education with a kindergarten endorsement who have a minimum 3.0 GPA.


Jason Lillebo Endowment Scholarship

Summary: Applicants must be a male student majoring in elementary education who has a minimum 3.5 GPA.


Aberdeen Area Retired Teachers Association Annual Scholarship

Summary: Candidates must be elementary or secondary education majors who have been admitted to the teacher education program and completed a minimum of 80 semester hours of coursework.


Dr. Wanda Coffield Hisel Memorial Scholarship

Summary: Applicants must have completed a minimum of 24 credit hours. Priority is given to students who attended high school in South Dakota. The award will be for teacher education only, and is not to replace a pre-existing academic award.


Bob Lehr Memorial Scholarship

Summary: Preference is given to applicants born and raised in South Dakota who are seeking a master's degree in educational administration and have a minimum 3.0 GPA.

All NSU Scholarships