ABERDEEN, S.D. – Northern State University has named Dr. Art Marmorstein and Dr. Chelsee Shortt winners of this year’s Outstanding Faculty Awards.

Foundation Faculty Excellence Award

Dr. Art Marmorstein, a distinguished member of Northern State University's Department of History, has been awarded the 2024 NSU Foundation Faculty Excellence Award. Holding a Ph.D. in History from the University of California, Davis, Dr. Marmorstein has been a vital part of our university since joining in August 1988. Throughout his tenure, he has held positions as assistant professor, associate professor, and professor, in addition to serving as department coordinator from 1991 to 2002. Dr. Marmorstein's contributions extend beyond the classroom, evident in his extensive involvement in university committees, including the NSU Faculty Senate and the Teacher Education Council. With a distinguished record of scholarly achievements, Dr. Marmorstein's commitment to education and academic excellence continues to have a lasting impact on Northern State University.

“Receiving the 2024 NSU Foundation Faculty Excellence Award is a profound honor," remarked Dr. Art Marmorstein, reflecting on his journey at Northern State University. "When I ask one of my colleagues how he's doing, his invariable reply is, 'Privileged to be alive and teaching at Northern State University.' Both of us feel incredibly privileged to be teaching at NSU. Wonderful colleagues, wonderful students, and very supportive alumni," he continued. "It's a special honor to be recognized with this year's faculty excellence award." Dr. Marmorstein's sentiment extends beyond personal recognition, acknowledging the exceptional faculty body at NSU. "For many years, I told prospective students, including my own kids, that NSU had half-a-dozen professors that were better as teachers than any of the instructors I had at Stanford. I don't say that anymore. I say it's a dozen—or maybe more," he added with pride. "To be singled out among so many truly excellent professors is quite an honor."

Early Career Faculty Award

Dr. Chelsee Shortt has been honored with the 2024 Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award in recognition of her invaluable contributions to Northern State University and the Sports Sciences Department. Since 2020, Dr. Shortt has served as Department Chair and Graduate Coordinator, stepping into the role of Faculty Athletic Representative in 2022. With expertise spanning physical education, pedagogy, and coaching, her research focuses on critical areas such as physical literacy, behavior retention, and student-athlete mental health. Dr. Shortt has achieved notable milestones, including her role as co-Principal Investigator alongside Dr. Talmage for an EPSCoR grant, and as co-PI alongside Drs. Mathew, Roberts, and Pierce for the NCAA Innovations in Research Grant. Her unwavering commitment to mentorship, research excellence, and active involvement in professional networks underscores her profound dedication to advancing both knowledge and practice within the field of sports sciences.

Shortt, expressed her heartfelt gratitude upon receiving the 2024 Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award, stating, "What an amazing surprise! I am truly blessed and honored to be considered. Thank you to the students who took the time to submit a nomination. Our students are top notch, genuinely a great group of future professionals! Thank you to the wonderful and supportive faculty, staff, and administration. We have excellent teachers, mentors, and leaders here that I learn from every day. Northern is a great place and I'm fortunate to be part of this community." Her modesty and appreciation reflect her dedication to both her students and colleagues, underscoring her commitment to excellence in academia and community-building. 

The awards were announced May 4 at Northern’s spring commencement ceremony. Past award winners are listed below.

NSU Foundation Faculty Excellence Award/Outstanding Faculty Member Award

2023 Hannah Walters
2022 Elizabeth Haller
2021 Kristi Bockorny
2020 Jon Mitchell
2019 Greg Blair
2018 Peter Ramey
2017 Courtney Waid-Lindberg
2016 Anthony Wachs
2015 Sara Schmidt
2014 Sara Christensen Blair
2013 Alyssa Kiesow
2012 Daniel Yurgaitis
2011 Erin Fouberg
2010 Robin Rosenthal
2009 Peter Kilian
2008 Gayle Bortnem
2007 Paul Everson
2006 William Wieland
2005 Jon Schaff
2004 Jon Lim 
2003 Jeff Jay
2002 Grant Manhart
2001 Lysbeth Benkert-Rasmussen
2000 Ken Blanchard
1999 Connie Geier
1998 Ric Dias
1997 Abid Elkhader
1996 David Grettler

NSU Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award

2023 Shalini Mathew 
2022 Ben Harley
2021 Anna Schwan
2020 Kristi Brownfield