Portraits of 2023 NSU Outstanding Faculty Drs. Shalini Mathew and Hannah Walters

ABERDEEN, S.D. – Northern State University has named Drs. Shalini Mathew and Hannah Walters winners of this year’s Outstanding Faculty Awards.

Walters, Associate Professor of Marketing/Department Chair in the NSU School of Business, is the winner of the 2023 NSU Foundation Faculty Excellence Award. This award recognizes faculty for excellence in teaching and learning, a sustained commitment to faculty service, and achievements in research and creativity within their discipline.

Mathew, Assistant Professor of Counselor Education in the Millicent Atkins School of Education, is the winner of the 2023 Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award. This award is presented to an early career, full-time faculty member who demonstrates a strong record and commitment to excellence in teaching, research and service.

Foundation Faculty Excellence Award

Walters, who has worked at Northern since 2012, was nominated by several faculty members, including Dr. Kristi Bockorny. In her letter of nomination, Bockorny said Walters excels in the classroom, with research and in service. She provides students with real-life opportunities by working on projects for Aberdeen area businesses.

“Since the day she started teaching at NSU, she has been driven and focused on student success,” Bockorny wrote. “She has proven herself to be an outstanding teacher, a solid scholar, and a servant for NSU.”

Early Career Faculty Award

Mathew, who has worked at Northern since 2019, was nominated by Heather Scott, Chair of the Department of Psychology and Counselor Education. In her nomination letter, Scott discussed how Mathew has mentored faculty, worked closely with students and contributed significantly through service activities.

“Dr. Mathew also developed the Wolves Emerging Scholars Program to assist first-year students with study skills, time management, self-advocacy, self-care and overall well-being,” Scott wrote. “She is a wonderful and conscientious colleague who is always willing to contribute.”

The awards were announced May 6 at Northern’s spring commencement ceremony. Past award winners are listed below.

NSU Foundation Faculty Excellence Award/Outstanding Faculty Member Award

2022    Elizabeth Haller
2021    Kristi Bockorny
2020    Jon Mitchell
2019    Greg Blair
2018    Peter Ramey
2017    Courtney Waid-Lindberg
2016    Anthony Wachs
2015    Sara Schmidt
2014    Sara Christensen Blair
2013    Alyssa Kiesow
2012    Daniel Yurgaitis
2011    Erin Fouberg
2010    Robin Rosenthal
2009    Peter Kilian
2008    Gayle Bortnem
2007    Paul Everson
2006    William Wieland
2005    Jon Schaff
2004    Jon Lim 
2003    Jeff Jay
2002    Grant Manhart
2001    Lysbeth Benkert-Rasmussen
2000    Ken Blanchard
1999    Connie Geier
1998    Ric Dias
1996    Abid Elkhader
1996    David Grettler

NSU Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award

2022    Benjamin Harley
2021    Anna Schwan
2020    Kristi Brownfield

About Northern State University 

Northern State University is a student-centered institution that provides an outstanding educational experience, preparing students through the liberal arts and professional education for their future endeavors. A regional university, Northern offers rigorous academics; diverse civic, social and cultural opportunities; and a commitment to building an inclusive environment for all points of view. Northern also offers a broad-based athletics program, sponsoring 15 NCAA Division II intercollegiate varsity sports that compete in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (NSIC). The university strives to enrich the community through partnerships such as its Educational Impact Campaign, which opened a new South Dakota School for the Blind and Visually Impaired; new athletic and recreation fields; and an on-campus regional sports complex. With the $55 million campaign, NSU has been the recipient of more than $150 million in privately funded building projects and scholarships within a decade. To learn more, visit NSU Admissions.