NSU Winter Commencement set for Saturday, Dec. 14

NSU Campus in Winter

ABERDEEN, S.D. – On Saturday, Dec. 14, 83 students will graduate from Northern State University at its 2019 winter commencement.

The ceremony begins at 10:30 a.m. in the NSU Johnson Fine Arts Center.

Delivering the commencement address will be NSU Associate Professor of English Dr. Lysbeth Benkert-Ramsussen. Student speaker will be NSU Student Association President Harrison Bruns. Longtime Aberdeen businessman and Northern supporter Patrick Teal will receive an honorary degree during the ceremony.

For more information, visit the NSU Commencement webpage.

A list of graduates is below, listed alphabetically by hometown:



***Lindsey L. Abens (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education)

Remi N. Allison (B.S. Professional Accountancy)

Alex D. Bellefeuille (B.S. Finance)

Bobbi J. Burdette (M.S.Ed. Educational Studies)

Michyl Cahoy (M.S.Ed. Teaching and Learning)

Meghan Conn (B.S.Ed. English)

Mackenzie L. Cruzen (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education)

Aaron Deutsch            (B.S. Business Administration)

Josephine Doeden (B.S. Accounting)

Jared T. Embury (B.S. Management Information Systems)

Tara J. Gascoigne (B.S. Mathematics)

Rose Marie Hawk (A.A. General Studies)

Shane W. Herman (BGS General Studies)

Alisyn M. Hof (B.S. Chemistry: Forensic Science)

*William R. Holtan (B.S. Biology)

MJ Johnson (M.S.Ed. Educational Studies)

Heather R. Koens (B.A. Criminal Justice)

Tyler W. Lemke (B.S. Business Administration)

*Matthew L. Mayfield (B.S. Psychology in Honoribus)

**Alyson J. Mehlhoff (B.S. Biology)

***Austin Lee Moser (B.S. Sport Marketing and Administration)

Christine J. Powers (B.A. Musical Theater)

Tulisa S. Reeves (B.S. Finance)

Alyssa R. Roller (B.S. Management)

***Ashley M. Rozell (B.S. Marketing)

Jason Cordell Rudolph (B.S. Environmental Science)

Tanner Christian Schabot-Shultis (BME Music: Instrumental, Vocal)

***Kyla Rae Schuster (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education in Honoribus)

Kayla R. Stoebner (BME Music: Vocal)

Jeniree Tirado Muñoz (B.S. Marketing)

Abigail A. Vogel (B.S. Marketing)

Austin D. Weiszhaar (B.S. Management)

**Bryce Zawatzke (B.S. Management)


Adrian, Minn.:

**Zyandra A. Schroeder (B.S. Biology; Certificate: Allied Health)


Alexandria, Minn.:

Joe Gorghuber (B.S. Marketing)


Anaheim, Calif.:

Vanessa R. Mejia (B.S. Psychology)



Taylor J. Walser (B.S. Biology; Certificate: Allied Health)



Uriel Oswaldo Martinez (B.A. German)


Bismarck, N.D.:

**Alissa R. Leier (B.S. Psychology in Honoribus)



Alexa M. Kapp (Master of Music Education)


Burnsville, Minn.:

Hannah Elise Porter-Gilman (Master of Music Education)


Carthage, Mo.:

Kaden D. Campbell (B.A. English)



*Gunner Haug (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education; Special Education)


Clarinda, Iowa:

Taylor R. Owens (B.S. Business Administration)



Brittany K. Brooks (M.S.Ed. Leadership and Administration)


Fargo, N.D.:

Kyle D. Trefethren (B.A. Political Science)



**Mayce J. Huffman (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education)


Halstad, Minn.:

Kimberly Ann Jacobson (Master of Music Education)



Shanae M. Peterson (A.S. Banking and Financial Services)


Honolulu, Hawaii:

Spencer K. Johnson (B.S. Management)



**Lexi Eckmann (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education)

Tha Yu Hser (A.A. General Studies)

Kanuani Valencia (A.A. General Studies)


Lake Villa, Ill.:

**Cassidy R. Schaar (B.S.Ed. Physical Education)



Morgan N. Bjordal (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education; Special Education)



**Arden A. Nelson, (B.S. Business Administration)

*Karlie Breanne Spiry (B.A. English)


Morris, Minn.:

Diana M. Nelson (B.S.Ed. Special Education)


Omaha, Neb.:

***Jamie Christine Fisher (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education)



***Kristen N. VanDeRostyne (B.S. Management)


Pipestone, Minn.:

Joe Morgan (B.A. Political Science)


Polson, Mont.:

Jared Colby Gallatin (M.S.Ed. Sport Performance and Leadership)


Rapid City:

Melissa Max (B.S. Business Administration)

Ayodele O. Ogunremi (B.S. Business Administration)



Nancy R. Schwartz (BGS General Studies)


Richfield, Minn.:

Amanda M. Cook (B.S. Professional Accountancy)



*Crystal Duran (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education)


Saint Paul, Minn.:

Brandon M. Wacker (BGS General Studies)


Shawnee, Kan.:

Bryan C. Burnett (B.S. Marketing)


Sioux Falls:

Marian C. Beck (Master of Music Education)

Caitlyn Therese Kovash (B.S. Psychology)

*Drew W. Peters (B.S. Biology)

*Logan Swenson (B.S.Ed. Elementary Education; Special Education)


Timber Lake:

Tyler E. Mareska (M.S.Ed. Leadership and Administration)



**Breanna S. Milbrandt (B.S.Ed. Art)



Olivia R. Forman (M.S.Ed. Teaching and Learning)

***^^^Mitchell Tschakert (A.S. Biotechnology; B.S. Biology)



Leigh A. Dean (M.S.Ed. Educational Studies)



Tasnim Mayasir (B.S. Management)



Qi An (M.S.Ed. Educational Studies)

Lixin Chen (B.S. Marketing)

Anran Zhang (B.S. Finance)


South Korea:

Daae An (BFA Digital Media)


***summa cum laude

**magna cum laude

*cum laude

^^^highest honor


About Northern State University

Northern State University is a regional university that offers outstanding academics and exceptional extracurricular activities at an affordable price on a safe, welcoming campus. Northern State recently announced its Educational Impact Campaign, with a goal of raising $55 million for a new South Dakota School for the Blind and Visually Impaired, new athletic and recreation fields, and an on-campus regional sports complex. Once the campaign is complete, NSU will be the recipient of more than $100 million in privately funded building projects and scholarships within a decade. To learn more, visit NSU Admissions.